We  are  Online  

Skilled Worker Programs

The Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP)

Due to the rising number of labour shortages in many skilled trades occupations across Canadian cities, the Federal Skilled Trades class program was introduced by the government. This program is the only migration program that target workers in specific occupations and is applicable for qualified and experienced tradespersons who wish to migrate and work in Canada.

Visa processing time: 6 months


  • All applicants MUST meet the minimum English or French language requirement. The Federal Skilled Trades Program Canada requires a CLB 5 for the speaking and listening components and CLB 4 for reading and writing components.
  • Must have two years (24 months) of full-time relevant work experience with up to 30+ hours per work, or equivalent in part time work in a skilled trade that adds up to the two years’ work with the same criteria, in the five years immediately prior to applying. (This could include, working more than one job for a total of 30 hours/week, or a longer duration of part time work with 15+ hours a week)
  • Ability to demonstrate necessary skills and experience to carry out essential job duties
  • Have proof of a full-time job offer, adding up to 30 hours per week in a skilled trade for a minimum of one year. You could also show job offers for two part time jobs that cover the minimum 30 hours a week.
  • If you hold a valid qualification certificate in a skilled trade, issued from a Canadian provincial or territorial authority, then you do not need a job offer to qualify.

*The Federal Skilled Trades Program is only for prospective immigrants who wish to live and work in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador. Those who wish to reside and work in Quebec should not apply for the FSTP, as Quebec has its own Quebec skilled trades program.

Eligible occupations under the FSTP include:

  • Industrial
  • Electrical and Construction
  • Maintenance and Equipment operations
  • Agriculture and Production
  • Processing
  • Transport
  • Manufacturing
  • Cooks /Chefs
  • Bakers/ Butchers

How to Apply for the FSTP

Applications for the FSTP is made through the online Canada Express Entry Stream.

Applicants need to do this using a NOC 2011 code. If it is made using a NOC 2006 code then it needs to include a labour market impact assessment (LMIA). All occupations must correspond to an eligible 2011 NOC code, for the application to be successful.

A person holding a Canadian post-secondary diploma or degree, or a foreign certificate equivalent with an Educational Credential assessment, increase their chances of receiving an Invitation to Apply.

*As of January 1, 2015, Candidates that wish to apply under the FSTP need to submit an expression of interest (EOI), through the Express entry system and would need to score a minimum of 65 points to be considered for invitation to apply.

IELTS & PTE Coaching with SIEC


The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is a standardized English language proficiency exam that has been designed to test the English Proficiency of International students and migrants who wish to study, live and work in an English-speaking country/ environment. IELTS in managed by reputed International Organizations including the British Council, IDP, IELTS Australia and University of Cambridge ESQL Examination.



The PTE exam is a computer based English language test which helps migrants and international students in non-native English speaking countries to gain the required English proficiency required to study or work overseas. It tests individuals on four components, including Reading, Writing, Listening and Speaking.


Our Videos

Has your visa application been refused?

Latest News

Australia introduces NEW Regional Migration visas!
Good news for International Skilled workers, as Australia is set to introduce two new Skilled Regional visas, which launch on 16 November 2019. An additional permanent visa pathway will also become active from November 2022.

The new skilled regional visas will enable skilled migrants and dependent family members to live and work in regional Australia for upto 5 years.


Australian Annual Migration Cap lowered
In an effort to curb overpopulation in major Australian cities like Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane, the government has announced that it plans to reduce the annual permanent migration cap from 190,000 down to 160,000 from July 2019. This is nearly a 15% decrease from the previous year. Of the 160,000 applications accepted, 70% will be in the skilled migration stream (110,000 places), while 30% will be from family migration (47,000 places). Employer sponsored visa will offer 39,000 places, and State and Territory Nominated categories will offer 38,968 places in 2019/20. The government plans to keep this cap in place for at least the next 3 years.



Latest Blogs

Australia's top In-Demand jobs; 2019

Australia's top In-Demand jobs; 2019
Based on the latest Hays report for 2019, it is suggested that the demand for skilled workers in Australia is expected to increase over the next two quarters of 2019, owing to the commencement of major planned infrastructure projects across the country.

Some of the most in-demand occupations include Risk and Compliance workers, Civil Construction Workers, Data Analysts, Digital Project Managers, Technicians, and Finance Business Partners.



Visa Grants


The National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters (NAATI) is a standards organization that is responsible for ensuring that high standards are set, maintained and promoted and provide the necessary accreditation for those who wish to gain knowledge/experience in working as Translators or Interpreters in Australia.


Professional year

A professional year program is a development program that has been structured to enhance a student's ability to gain employment and broaden knowledge and skills of the Australian culture and workplace.


Start your Immigration Journey Today!


Check your eligibility: Submit online assessment form


Get a free assessment within 24 hours


Prepare your application with SIEC migration advisor


Submit your application together with supporting documents


Wait for your Migration visa to be granted

Appointment Request Form